FAQ

Welcome to the Ximbus help centre, where you’ll find answers to commonly asked questions.

Browse by Topic

The Ximbus licensing structure has been specially designed to support admin users and teachers/presenters to allow organizations to manage Ximbus licenses in one place.

Whoever activates a license key for the first time will become an admin user for that key. Therefore, if you have received a license(s) for Ximbus and you work inside a Google Classroom or Microsoft Office 365 environment, you should give the key to whoever is responsible for managing your licenses in your organization.

As an individual user, when you activate your Ximbus product key you will become an admin user for that key. This is to allow freedom of switching between Ximbus for Google and Ximbus for Microsoft.

To become a teacher, you must also add yourself as a Teacher by entering your email address against the license key. You can enter a Microsoft or a Google account.

As an admin for your organization, you will be responsible for adding user emails against a license within the Ximbus Admin Dashboard.

Click this admin consent link to grant access for your users.
Log into Ximbus using your Global Admin organization email address and password.
Accept any permissions for your organization that appear. You will now be prompted to log into Ximbus to finalise the process.
Once logged in, enter your first Ximbus license key.
You will now be redirected to the Ximbus Admin Dashboard.
Enter more keys as required or assign users to the available licenses. You can also assign yourself as a teacher/presenter if required.
Any users in your organization who have been added against a license key will now be able to log into Ximbus for the duration of the license.

The user’s email is unassigned from the product key, freeing up a space to add another user.

Currently, lesson data is left intact, however, for GDPR requirements we will be implementing a delete request to delete all associated data with that account.

When you log into Ximbus for the first time, your Dashboard will be empty and will look like this:

Tap “Make a New Lesson”
Input a lesson name, and add a description and tags at the appropriate prompts.
Tap “Create New Lesson”

You will now be redirected to the Lesson Editor where you can add Drive content, web images, YouTube videos, and website links to your lesson.

To create more lessons when back in your Dashboard, use the “Create New Lesson” link at the top right.

To add content, choose the location of the content you wish to add from the left-hand side of the screen. Your options are:

Google Drive / OneDrive Content
YouTube Videos
Web Images
Web
Record a Video

To add Drive content, navigate your folders to find the file you want to add. Tap the “+” icon on the Drive content to add it to your timeline.

To add YouTube and Web Image content, type in a search term into the search box. Similarly, tap the “+” icon to add your desired image or YouTube video.

For websites, type in a URL or embed code directly and then tap “Add” to add it to your timeline.

To record a video, ensure a camera recording device is connected. Tap the red circle button to start recording. Once finished tap the red square button. Tap ‘add to timeline’ or ‘record another video’.

Once you’ve added files or web resources to the timeline, tap the “Present This Lesson” button at the top right.

Your classes from the ‘Class Management’ section will show here.

Select the class(es) you want to present the lesson to and tap ‘Present This Lesson’.

Please note that if you choose to run a Live Lesson, once you have closed down the lesson, your invited audience will be able to access the lesson in Flipped Classroom mode immediately, without any additional setup.

Once you’ve added files or web resources to the timeline, tap the “Grant Flipped Lesson Access” button at the top right.

Your classes from the ‘Class Management’ section will show here.

Select the class(es) you want to grant flipped lesson access to and tap ‘Save Audience’.

Other controls in the Timeline view are:

Clear Timeline:

Tap the bulldozer icon at the bottom right to clear your timeline. Your files will not be deleted from your Drive, but it will remove any web assets you previously searched for. This action cannot be undone.

Step-by-Step:

When your invited participants are viewing your timeline in self-paced mode (eg, when accessing outside of the classroom or training room), this mode forces them to navigate through the content in a linear fashion.

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support
Ximbus Bot